Little Hall, Lavenham
A stunning timber framed wool merchant's house with 14th century origins, Little Hall is a hall house with an imposing crown post roof. Built in the 1390s for the Causton family of clothiers the house was enlarged and improved in 1425-50 and then ‘modernised’ in Tudor times, when a fireplace was built in the upper floor in the hall.
The Gayer-Anderson brothers, who were both soldiers and artists, shared an interest in art, Egyptian art in particular, and collecting antiques, pictures, books, china and decorative art. They rescued Little Hall in the 1920s and 30s and made it their home. Their collection of furniture, pictures, sculptures and ceramics is on display in this wonderful building they called home.
Landline: 01787 247019