Laxfield became a settlement on the edge of some flat land where there was a stream big enough to support it.
The village secured a charter for markets in 1226 and managed to secure Saturday, the best day for a market. Now there is a monthly produce, craft and flea market on the first Saturday of every month from 10am until 12.30pm. There are usually between 20 and 30 stalls selling a wide variety of goods in and around All Saints Church and the Royal Oak pub next to the church.
You will also find a shop, two pubs and a fascinating local history museum housed in the guildhall.
The guildhall is a stunning, half-timbered building and the parish council decided to establish a museum here in 1971. In order to encourage people to attend an exhibition about it, they were asked to bring something old that might be suitable for the museum. People were so enthused by the idea and brought so many interesting objects, that the exhibition continued for several days.
The museum's extensive collection includes early 20th century shop interiors (together with window displays), costumes, artefacts from life from the late 19th and early 20th centuries as well as objects relating to the Mid Suffolk Light Railway, which terminated in Laxfield; objects from farming and rural life in Suffolk and local 'field finds', including fossils.